|| GARAGE SWEET GARAGE: A Home Tour

My friend (and lovely photographer for Miss Red Blog!) Lindsay, her husband, and three boys live in beautiful Trempealeau, WI.

Aschenbrener Family.JPG

14962553_1204823619596293_5926009387858923708_n.jpg

They have also been living in a garage for two years. Yes. A garage I say. Lindsay, an Interior Designer, has always had a knack for creativity. But, even she never imagined she’d be designing a garage for a home.

When Lindsay and her husband decided to sell their home to build their dream one, they decided the buffer for the in between/waiting stage would be to build a garage to house the family. Is it crazy? Is it brilliant? Or is it CRAZY BRILLIANT??! (I mean I definitely want to live in it!) This isn’t your ordinary garage. In fact it clearly states when you walk in the door to “Welcome to the Studio”.

Lindsay was kind enough to let us all take a look and answer some questions.

Step inside my friends…

THE OVERALL DESIGN 

image2-2

garage

The living room, kitchen, and Eric and Lindsay’s bedroom are all open on the main floor, while the boy’s beds are in the upstairs loft.

img_7407

img_7408

img_7415

img_7406

img_7416

img_7414

img_7410

THE BIGGEST BLACKBOARD YOU’VE EVER SEEN

the-studio

Okay. First off. Tell everyone on how you came up with this idea (which is a teacher’s dream!)?

Lindsay: I knew that I had always wanted a chalkboard wall for my boys somewhere! When the walls started going up I thought, why not make the garage door insert my fabulous accent/chalkboard wall! I can nail whatever I want into the plywood and put as many holes into it as I want.  After all, it is coming down anyways when the door goes up this spring! The boys love that they can create their masterpieces on a wall.

img_7404

img_7411

Let’s talk about the bar because everyone is going to be coming over for a drink now. Where did the design come from?

Lindsay: My dad made this from one of his own sheds! I wanted to use it as a bar, with extra seating for when guests come over. We are so limited on space in the garage so it’s a great addition. Eric also made the wine bottle holder from an old pallet. 

WERE YOU RAISED IN A BARN? NO. I WAS RAISED IN A GARAGE…

Lindsay and Eric had been living in the garage for a year when to their surprise, another boy was on the way! “A baby? You’re going to have a baby living in a garage?” We all couldn’t believe it. But if there was somebody that would put on a smile and make it work, it was definitely Lindsay.

img_7405

I think it’s pretty obvious, this next question. How in the world did you pull this off (and with two kids already)?

Lindsay: This has been a fun adventure for the boys! They share a room upstairs which also happens to double as their playroom. What more could two boys want! The addition of Fynn was a bit more challenging. When he wakes up he is staring right at me!  He is my last so I am trying to savor these moments.  But I will say, he can usually sleep through quite a bit of noise. He’s finally been sleeping through the night! Winning! 

THE COZY KITCHEN

image1 (6).JPG

img_7412

img_7413

Let’s talk about function. This is definitely smaller than your previous kitchen. What did you do without because of spacing?

Lindsay: I have a lot of my gadgets and hosting materials in boxes right now. We keep some of that in our storage section upstairs in the garage, but that is hard to get to! One thing I had to give up is counter space.  Our kitchen counter has now become our mail drop spot, purse holder, iphone charging station, coffee bar (you name it)….. you can hardly see it anymore! I did think of creative ways to store some of my kitchen gadgets because of limited space. Our oven now houses our cookie sheets and cake pans while our pots and pans hang from an old sled my father-in-law used to own. 

THE LIKES AND DISLIKES

What’s your favorite part of the garage?

Lindsay: My concrete floors! They take such a beating, but you would never know!

When you move into the new home this spring, what will you miss the least about living in a garage?

Lindsay: Sharing a bathroom with four other people! And not being able to scrapbook because my office has become storage.

And what will you miss the most? Come on. There has to be something!

Lindsay: It has been really nice living in such close quarters with my family. The fact that my husband and I still like each other after all of this is amazing! I know that after this we will all likely still continue to hang out together in the same room.

Thank you so much Lindsay (and family!) for letting us into your beautiful garage.  I can’t wait for you to move out so I can move in…hmm.

Stay tuned for the design of the new Aschenbrener house on the blog in the future!

Photography Credits: Lindsay Aschenbrener

andrea

2 thoughts on “|| GARAGE SWEET GARAGE: A Home Tour

  1. I love this! You are right, if anyone can make this work it’s Linds! Sorry Andrea, you’ll gain a roomie once they build the house…maybe this could be my summer home! Lol 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

