style / Wear it. Work it.

||Pencil this down…

You’re going to want to pencil down these details…

IMG_8217

There’s one thing I gladly take from 1950’s fashion and that’s the pencil skirt. I own about seven of them. They’re classic, easy to style, and you can wear them all throughout the year (extra points!). In summer you can fashion them with sandals and a tank and in winter just throw on some tights and booties.

IMG_8219

But my favorite way to style them is with a simple tee. I love dressing down a fancier piece of clothing with a casual piece. I do it often.

Why?

  1. It’s comfortable.

  2. It’s unexpected.

  3. My closet is full of every tee ever made…

Other ways I style a pencil skirt:

  1. With a crisp button down shirt. Think office chic.

  2. With a loose button down (think chambray) for a little more relaxation and contrast.

  3. Belting it. I often add a skinny belt for a little extra something something.

  4. Heels. I love any shoe with a heel. I love them now because one day I probably won’t be able to walk in them.

  5.  Flats. Whether closed toed or sandals, I’ll throw these on for still a completely pulled together look.

I usually gravitate to pencil skirts with some pizazz (yes I just said pizazz).  I often wear ones with a unique color, texture, or print. It’s a twist on the classic look and way to make it your own. I snagged this olive green lace one from Express the other day. P.S. it’s on SALE! And I definitely had my eye on it in sour cherry. 

I’m fawning over these ones lately…

this blush one Major sale on this one too!

this jade green one

this floral one

this asymmetrical one in mint

And if you’re wanting to start to walk the pencil line I recommend…

this classic black

this white one with the slightest print

this navy high waisted sailor one

this dark denim jean one

That’s all for now my friends! Pencil more of Miss Red blog in your itinerary.

IMG_8228

||Style Details

Express Olive Lace Pencil Skirt//Old Navy Relaxed Tee in Glimmer Gray//Payless Chunky Sandals//Nickel and Suede Leather Earrings in Lipgloss//Francesca’s Sunglasses

Photography Credits: Lindsay Aschenbrener

andrea

5 thoughts on “||Pencil this down…

Leave a Reply

