||7 THINGS KEEPING ME SANE

image

As some of you may know, the reason I started this blog was to share my delights in my life. My life isn’t always moonlight and roses or unicorns and rainbows. I experience ups and downs just like your average Joe (that’s just part of life people!), but there are so many lovely things that I come across in my life that make me smile.  I want to share with you the things I just can’t live without right now (some I’ve shared with you before!). Sounds dramatic I know..but these simple items below have recently made me so happy. Embrace the simple things! So here it is. 7 things keeping me sane…

1. Nickel and Suede 

I have not been able to shut up about this company for the last 91 days. My friend Abbey introduced me to them in December and I can’t thank her enough for getting me addicted. They bring to you life changing lightweight leather earrings. I won’t lie. When I saw their tagline and thought really? life changing? I mean I love fashion and accessories (and mind you the first look at them made my jaw drop) but I didn’t know if these were going to be life changing…

HA! Well let’s see…five pairs later (my spring green pair comes Monday!) you could say that they are in fact life changing to me. I have a pair on almost every day. I wear them to work, the grocery store, during yoga (seriously I keep them on for yoga because I can’t feel them!) or while I’m lounging on the couch right now writing this post. Kilee Nickels, the creator, found herself wearing them mowing lawn. I can assure you I’ll find myself wearing mine mowing lawn as well. So simple, but they make me smile every time I put them on. I find myself checking their Instagram and website daily to see which new pairs they have created.  I can’t wait for ‘Lipgloss’ to be back and for their spring collection.  I’m telling you just order one pair and if you don’t love them well then give them to me!!

2. My favorite blogs

We’ll call them my daily dose of inspiration. I found myself following blogs a few years ago. I started with A Cup of Jo. My sister Liz sent me the site one day and soon I found myself checking it every single day just waiting to see what she was going to post next. Shortly after I found Gal Meets Glam and most recently The Londoner.  There are many other blogs I follow, but these three are certainly the ones I continue to check daily.

3. A simple v-neck tee and cute sneakers

I love a basic v-neck tee. It can go with anything. Dress it up with a pencil skirt or dress it down with skinny jeans.  A simple v-neck tee makes for the easiest (and cheapest!) item in my closet. I love these ones from Target and Old Navy and they go perfectly with my latest sneakers.  Recently I posted a pair of pale pink sneakers. You know when you fall in love with something that you buy two of them? Hello mesh white pair! I love how feminine both are so I can again dress them up or dress them down. Find them at Old Navy before they are gone.

4. Thursday nights with Shonda Rhimes

Haven’t you heard?? Thursday is the new Friday. Shonda Rhimes first had me obsessed with McDreamy on Grey’s Anatomy, then convinced me I was best friends with Olivia Pope from Scandal, and now she has me sitting on the edge of my seat while watching How to Get Away with Murder. Bravo Shonda! Who needs to wait around for Friday to come when you can have Thursday nights with wine and your friends freaking out about characters that don’t even exist! TGIT!

5. Yoga

Raise your hand if you don’t like working out…oh boy I thought so…

I love playing sports. I’ll play a game of basketball any day, but honestly I don’t care to work out.  I can think of plenty other things I’d rather been doing then spending time at the gym. I found one type of exercise I really enjoy though. I’ve been doing yoga off and on throughout the years, but I’ve really tried to make it a staple in my life now. All I wanted to be able to do was touch my toes and now I can hover in a low plank above the ground (thank you Laura!).  Even if it’s a full on yoga vinyasa or just a few child poses before bed, it’s helped to relax myself so much. It also might help that I do yoga at a winery…

6. The ‘Acoustic’ playlists on Spotify

I love music. I don’t have a favorite genre because it really just depends on the mood I am in.  I’m hooked on Spotify.  I subscribe so I can listen in my car and on the plane. My life can be so busy that sometimes that I need some music that can slow it down.  I love the playlists ‘Acoustic Covers’, ‘Acoustic Morning’, ‘Acoustic Afternoon’, and ‘Acoustic Evening’. They have so many beautiful versions of well known songs that I swoon over. The other day I found this version of ‘Girl Crush’ on ‘Acoustic Covers’ and Megan Davies’s voice has me wishing I could actually sing in places other than my car and my shower. I’ve listened to it only 3,249 times..

and last but not least 7. Writing Miss Red Blog

missredblog

It’s only been a month and a half, but this blog has become my little getaway. I sometimes find myself spending hours working on it and thinking of new ideas. Although I hope one day I’ll have countless number of people following Miss Red Blog, I enjoy every time I gain a follower, a like, or a comment on my posts.  It makes me smile knowing that I’ve hopefully added a little delight in someone’s daily life. Many thanks to those helping me keep Miss Red Blog going!!

Have a splendid weekend!

andrea

3 thoughts on “||7 THINGS KEEPING ME SANE

  1. Such a fun blog! I came across it when I found a picture of you wearing the nickel & suede earrings. You had on the army green jacket from Francesca’s. I ordered the same earrings and went and bought the jacket! Thankfully we have a Francesca’s at Burnseville center!!

    Like

    1. Aww thank you! So very sweet of you! That is one of my favorite looks and I adore my Nickel and Suede earrings. I’m so happy you enjoy the little delights in my life and I hope you continue to follow.

      Like

Leave a Reply

