||CORN CHOWDER

It’s true. I’m one of “those” people. The ones that secretly hate to cook.

Actually it’s not really a secret at all. In fact anybody that really knows me knows just that.  I’m pretty blunt about it.  However, just because I hate cooking doesn’t mean I necessarily can’t cook. I’ve made some pretty darn good meals in my day I must say.  I’m by no means a food snob, but I do love a good dish.

In every segment of “I hate cooking, but I’ll cook this..”, I’ll share with you my favorite recipes that are simple and delicious. Need I say more..

Corn Chowder

Recipe courtesy of fraiche

Corn Chowder

7 ingredients, 3 steps, 10 mins. Sign me up!

This soup is perfect by itself or as a side dish.  Great for these chilly fall days and when I’m watching football. Plus it has bacon. (Confession I used more than 3 slices…).

Ingredients

  • 3 slices of bacon, diced

  • 1/2 small onion, finely diced

  • 2 stalks celery, finely diced

  • 1 can creamed corn

  • 1 cup 2% milk

  • 1/2 cup frozen corn

  • Salt and/or pepper to taste

Directions

  1. In a heavy saucepan over medium heat, fully cook bacon.  Remove from heat.  Place bacon onto a plate lined with a paper towel to absorb the fat.

  2. Place the saucepan back over the heat and cook the onion and celery until transparent (about 5 mins). Add the bacon, creamed corn, milk and frozen corn and bring to a simmer.

  3. Season with salt and pepper (add crackers if you choose) and ENJOY!

andrea

Leave a Reply

